Home > Sports, TV > Things I don't have time for

Things I don't have time for

(Editor’s note: Yeah, I know…  I ended the title with a preposition.  So what… you wanna fight about it?)

The annual hoopla about American Idol – and my friends’ near-universal ranting and raving about who won and who didn’t – has gotten me on my annual rant.  That’s right!  My regularly-scheduled grumpy column.  I’ve taken a pretty wicked swipe at AI before.  Got a lot of hate comments after that one (some I couldn’t post).

Now, as I’ve stated over and over, I have no use for Idol or anything related to it.  Seacrest.  Simon.  Abdul. The new gal.  Karaoke-esque singers.  But most of all, I just don’t have time in my schedule for something like that.  Even if I wanted to watch it (which I obviously don’t), I’d have to give up something.  That led me to this post.

So, here it is kids… things I don’t have time for:

  • Any reality show with a prize (money, bride, groom, trip, etc.).  If it’s just reality for the sake of reality – think Ozzy Osbourne puttering and muttering around the house – and I’m all ’bout it ’bout it.
  • NHL hockey.  Now, even with the Carolina Hurricanes in my backyard, I still haven’t gotten into hockey. And I think I figured out why.  I just don’t have the time.  I already follow college basketball, college football and the NFL extensively.  On the next level (“follow fairly closely”) are the NBA, MLB, the PGA and pro tennis.  That makes seven sports that get a lot of my attention.  Can I fit one more in there, especially if it’s one populated by Canadians and Europeans… popular in places like Edmonton and Detroit… and on a TV station that was recently the “Outdoor Life Network?”  I’m sorry… hockey’s out in the cold.
  • The pain. Nor do I have room for it.
  • Following pop music and making any sense of the latest trends.  I wrote about this a few years ago.  I’m getting old, and it’s only getting worse.  Where the hell did Lady Gaga come from, and why is she so damn popular?  I just don’t get it.
  • One-hour dramas.  That’s a lot of time, and they are a lot like soap operas, when you get down to it.  Grey’s Anatomy vs. General Hospital.  What’s the difference? The primetime version has better indy-pop music.
  • Wrapping my head around people who put monogram decals on their cars.  Or stickers that depict stick figures of their family members.  I just don’t get it.
  • Broadening my mind through philosophic discussions and original thought.  Homey don’t play that.

So, that’s my list.  Granted, it took me several minutes to write about things I don’t have time for.  Apparently, you can’t add irony to that list.  Got that one nailed down.

Categories: Sports, TV
  1. Skipper2MyLu
    May 22, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    Oh no you didn’t just put General Hospital and Grey’s Anatomy in the same category!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

