Home > Leftovers, Music > Proust meets Montell Jordan

Proust meets Montell Jordan

This might be the weirdest blog post ever.  Even for me.  But, I was having a conversation with a loyal SMP reader who argued with me that “This is How We Do It” by Montell Jordan can’t be on a list of worst songs ever.  He then went on to say that my Proust questionnaire made him laugh.  So… we’re talking about Montell Jordan… and the Proust questionnaire… which led to the obvious question.  What if you answered the survey using just the lines from “This is How We Do It.”

I told you. This was a stupid idea.  But, bear with me.  We’ll get through this together.

What is your idea of perfect happiness? It’s Friday night, and I feel all right. The party is here on the west side. So I reach for my 40 and I turn it up.

What is your greatest fear? If you were from where I’m from then you would know.

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself? Hit the shore, ‘cuz I’m faded.

What is the trait you most deplore in others? If you’re an OG mack.

What is your greatest extravagance? I gotta get mine in a big black truck.

What is your current state of mind? I’m kinda buzzed and it’s all because. This is how we do it.

On what occasion do you lie? The party’s underway.

What do you dislike most about your appearance? All they said was 6-8 he stood.

Which living person do you most despise? A wannabe playa.

What do you most value in your friends? People thought the music that he made was good.

What or who is the greatest love of your life? Honeys in the street say, Monty, you we made it!

When and where were you happiest? It feels so good in my hood tonight. The summertime skirts and the guys in kani. All the gang bangers forgot about the drive-by.

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be? Sell a million records.

What do you consider your greatest achievement? But now Im a big G.  The girls see I got the money. A hundred-dollar bills y’all.

Where would you like to live? YNV. SCC.

What is your most treasured possession? I’ll never come whack on an old school track.

What is your favorite occupation? You gotta get your groove on, before you go get paid.

What is your most marked characteristic? I was a lowercase g.

Who are your favorite writers? There lived a DJ and Paul was his name.

Which historical figure do you most identify with? To all my neighbors, you got much flava.

What is it that you most dislike? [Wow, this song doesn’t have many negative comments in it]

What is your greatest regret? Once upon a time in 94. Montell made no money and life sure was slow.

Which talent would you most like to have? Let’s flip the track, bring the old school back.

If you’re still reading this, I apologize sincerely for this.  It will never happen again.

Categories: Leftovers, Music
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

