Home > Leftovers > 25 things to know about me

25 things to know about me

The other day, I got a link in Facebook to write 25 things about myself. So, it seemed like a good one for the Sweet Monkey Pie blog. Because if I’m going to write something for fun, I damn well better do it on this site first. Since this will get updated automatically on my Facebook site, this is a true “two birds with one stone” situation. Enjoy.

These were the instructions: “Rules: Once you’ve been tagged, you are supposed to write a note with 25 random things, facts, habits, or goals about you. ”  Then, there are instructions about tagging people in Facebook and such.  But, that’s the gist of it.  Let’s get this party started.

  1. I normally don’t respond to these “make lists about yourself” stuff.  But, I’m in desperate need for a good idea for these blogs.
  2. Even though I’m now 35, I still feel like a kid most days.
  3. If I want to feel old, though, I only have to play tennis.  It’s morbidly hilarious to see so many mishits on the top of the frame (because I’m just a half-step away from where my mind thinks I am).
  4. After growing up an NC State fan, it’s weird how big of a UNC supporter I am.  Especially the journalism school.  I owe my career and a good chunk of my life to those professors who put me through the ringer those three years.
  5. I wish I could speak another language, specifically French.
  6. I wish I was a little bit taller, I wish I was a baller.
  7. I used to wish “I had girl who looked good, I would call her,” but I accomplished that one. She’s legally obliged to hang out with me, too. So, I got that working for me.  Which is nice.
  8. I quote Caddyshack a bit much.
  9. I live every day according to the Golden Rule.
  10. You know the ad agency that came up with the nail fungus ad where the fungus goes below the toe nail?  Everyone in that agency should get, at best, a wedgie.  At worst, they should get an atomic wedgie.
  11. My two new favorite sites are Sad Trombone and Instant Rimshots.
  12. I can’t decide if Nelly Furtado sounds more like, a) A menu item at Taco Bell, b) A deviant sex act, or c) A pop singer.  None of them sound right.
  13. I think Jazmine Sullivan should be a huge star.  God, what a voice.
  14. After three weeks of my special “eat less and exercise more” diet, I’m down six pounds.  Happily, I have no goal on how much I want to lose.
  15. I know I cuss too much.  As long as it’s not around the boy, I’m just not all that concerned.  Sorry.
  16. It’s amazing how much more liberal my political views got in the past few years.  I can’t decide if it’s because of the ineptitude of the Bush administration… or I’ve just figured out who I am and how I view the world.
  17. I use the phrase “kill two birds with one stone” way too much at work.  I know I do it, but when you’re working in a small department with big goals, it’s always fitting.
  18. I’ve always wanted to bobsled.  But I hate skiing. Go figure
  19. 30 Rock is hands down the best show on TV right now.  Most creative, best writing, outstanding performances.
  20. Hulu is a fantastic time-killer.  When I found out they had In Living Color clips on there, I almost stopped eating or showering.
  21. I really like Bloom County.
  22. I have a great life.  I love my job, and I have a terrific wife, a fantastic kid and two pretty cute dogs.
  23. Speaking of which, I’ve always wanted a basset hound, and now that I have one, it’s all that I expected.  You can’t be stressed if you have a basset sleeping on your lap.  It’s biologically impossible.
  24. One of the best things I’ve ever done is “quitting” the Dallas Cowboys after the T.O. signing.  There’s never been a day that I’ve regretted it.
  25. I hate hyperbole and the miuse of the word “literally.”  It’s literally the worst thing in the world.
Categories: Leftovers
  1. June 10, 2009 at 7:09 am

    Great post! I’ve been researching this topic for quite some time. 😕

  1. February 8, 2009 at 10:45 pm

Leave a Reply

