Home > Movies, Music, Sports > After surviving the Blizzard of '08, I'm ready for some football

After surviving the Blizzard of '08, I'm ready for some football

Yesterday, the Triangle area of North Carolina was under a “winter storm warning.” For days, the local weather guys had painted a picture of an almost-certain “storm” of 2-4 inches of snow. For a region that averages about 8 inches every year – and hasn’t seen any measurable snow in about three years – this was big stuff.

My favorite part was Greg Fishel, meteorologist at the local CBS affiliate, estimating that a narrow band of snow to our south could get 6-12 inches. By Friday night, the waffling began, with estimates for our area drifting from anywhere to a trace to 4 inches.

The outcome? It was more like a trace. I guess the ground temp was too warm (shouldn’t they be able to figure that more easily?), so although it snowed for 4-5 hours, it never really got a chance to accumulate.

Even though we didn’t get snow, we did get a good shot of cold air. Today’s mid-day wind chill was in the low 20s. That makes it a good day to just sit around and watch the NFL playoffs.

However, as I sat down to watch the game, I saw that VH1 Classic is showing the movie Woodstock. For those of you that haven’t seen the movie, it’s the definitive look at the definitive moment of the 1960s. As a kid, my friends and I used to watch it because of the chance to see some hippie nudity. But now, I watch it to see some fantastic musical performances.

My all-time favorite? Richie Havens, who opened the whole shebang with one song and seven encores. Why this guy? I mean, we still had the Who, Santana, Sly and the Family Stone, and for some reason Sha-na-na (that last one is the performance that always makes me feel like I’m on an acid trip – 50s do-wop right before Hendrix? sure) on the bill. Well, Havens put together a lot of elements that I just dig. Emotion, raw power, confidence and a kick-ass dashiki. What else do you need?

Watch the second half of this Youtube video that I linked to, where Havens sings a song simply called, “Freedom.” If there was ever a moment that pretty much summed up my impressions of 1969 (even though I didn’t live through it), it’s this song. “Sometimes I feel like a motherless child.” He hit on something there, and it always gives me chills.

But, since I want to see the Patriots in their pursuit to 19-0, I’m flipping back and forth between Woodstock and an NFL game. Just now, I watched Tom Brady complete a first-down pass, then I switched over to VH1 Classic, and it’s a bunch of “damn dirty hippies” doing yoga with about six VW buses in the background (or as I like to call it, “the shot that confirmed all stereotypes). Oh, and I’m typing on a blog that’s named after a misheard lyric in an Ini Kamoze song.

Boy, I’m tripping now.

Categories: Movies, Music, Sports
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

