Home > Friends of SMP, Music, The Power of Sweet Monkey Pie > XM and Sweetmonkeypie: Something's happening here, what it is ain't exactly clear

XM and Sweetmonkeypie: Something's happening here, what it is ain't exactly clear

OK, last night I wrote yet another entry about the bizarre programming on XM radio’s channel 21.  That made this morning’s experience driving experience pretty surreal.

Here’s what happened:

  • 7:50 a.m. ET – Left the house.  Flipped around XM when I got into the car and caught a little of a Chris Rock comedy bit on XM 150.  Always solid.  White people do be outta their mind.
  • 7:56 a.m. ET – When XM 150 decides to run an ad, I flip to XM 21 (as I am wont to do), and the Plain White Soulless Moaning T’s are playing “Hey There Delilah.”
  • 7:56:30 a.m. ET – I really, really hate Delilah at this point.
  • 7:59 a.m. ET – This is where we find a wrinkle in the fabric of the universe.  XM 21 gives me the “Old School” sound blurb, and I brace.
    • The song?  Ini Kamoze’s “Here Comes the Hotstepper”
    • Why is this significant?  This is the song where the phrase “Sweet Monkey Pie” originated.  Here’s the original explanation.  It’s a misheard lyric from this usually-forgotten tune.
  • 8:00 a.m. ET – I’m frantically trying to reach my boy Nipsey on my mobile phone to record this for posterity.  I leave what has to be the most confusing voice mail since Bill O’Reilly drunk-dialed that chick who used to work for him.
  • 8:03 a.m. ET – XM 21 ends the madness by going to Soulja Boy’s “Crank That.”  I almost have a wreck trying to do the dance in my car, especially when it gets to the “Superman” line.  Have I mentioned that I’m 34 and white?

So, there you have it.  Definitive proof that XM is either being programmed by the CIA or by crazed gremlins in my brain.  And no, I’m not paranoid.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

