Home > Music > XM Radio finally starts to give us fair warning on Channel 21

XM Radio finally starts to give us fair warning on Channel 21

As I’ve mentioned before – here, here and here – XM Radio has played some interesting music on channel 21, KISS (”Fresh Hits of Pop, Rock and Rhythm”). For a long time, my primary complaint is that they would go from a recent song by Justin Timberlake and segue directly into something like Nenah Cherry’s “Buffalo Stance (actual song recently heard on channel 21).

I’ve recently noticed, though, that the good people at XM Radio have started giving us a cue when 21 will play a song by Kool Moe Dee (can’t remember which one, but holy crap, it actually happened). Now, they say, “Old school” before sending us to the tunes.

And you know what? It actually works. Just two words, and I’m ready to hear whatever you throw at me. If this is one of the side-effects from the Sirius merger, I’ll take it.

Just a brief note today. I’m watching 30 Rock right now, and Alec Baldwin just did an impression of Fred Sanford, JJ from Good Times and I think Florida Evans was thrown in there. It was phenomenal.

UPDATE (10/26/07) – This a.m. on the way in to work, I had to run a few errands, so I heard a few more good tunes on XM 21’s “Old School” playlist.  First off, “Funky Cold Medina” by Tone Loc was playing as I left the house.  A couple of current songs came on, then after dropping off clothes at the dry cleaner … “Cool It Now” by New Edition.  LOVE THAT SONG, if only for the “Ronnie, Bobby, Ricky and Mike,” rap in the middle.

By the time I got to work, I had heard Fergie’s “Fergilicious,” “Makes Me Wonder” by Maroon 5 and, yes, “Hey There Delilah” by the Plain White One-Hit-Wonders (because it’s an FCC regulation, dammit!).

When I got to work, what was playing?  “Buffalo Stance” by Nenah Cherry.

So, to sum up, XM 21 is playing “old school” songs, but they’re taking the Al Gore approach and reducing, reusing and recycling the songs they play.  I’m through the looking glass on this one.  God, I need to get a life.

Categories: Music
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

