Home > Music > The return of "Baby Please" music?

The return of "Baby Please" music?

One of my favorite songs currently on the charts is Elliott Yamin’s tune “Wait for You.” It’s a catchy tune, especially from an American Idol contestant. This guy lost to Taylor Hicks? Um, there’s nothing more I need to know about Idol. Any show that chooses Taylor over Elliott is, scientifically speaking, batshit insane.

Funny thing is, I didn’t know that Yamin was an Idol alum until I just checked out his Wikipedia entry. Still, I liked “Wait for You” for two very, very good reasons.

  1. Like only a handful of male vocalists, Yamin suffers from an acute case of Rick Astley syndrome. That is, he’s a white guy who sounds like a black guy. And not in a lame K-Fed or Marky Mark circa 1992 way. When I finally saw the video for this song, I honestly stopped and stared. The guy looks like he should be singing at a coffee shop in the East Village. But he sounds like a guy on stage at the Apollo. Not bad.
  2. When I finally listened to the lyrics, it has all the makings of a great “Baby Please” song.

As I’ve mentioned earlier, one of my favorite moments in music history was the “Baby Please” era of the early 90s. My definition for this genre is pretty simple, meaning it’s a song that talks about “pining for a girl… and showing an utter disregard for their own personal dignity.”

Now, stylistically, “Wait for You” doesn’t sound like the overproduced studio records of the Boys II Men era. Nor does his voice have the same pleading tones of a Jodeci tune. But, the lyrics? Check these out.

So baby I will wait for you
Cause I don’t know what else I can do
Don’t tell me I ran out of time
If it takes the rest of my life

Baby I will wait for you
If you think I’m fine it just ain’t true
I really need you in my life
No matter what I have to do
I’ll wait for you

Let’s see what we have here. Pining for a girl? Check. An utter disregard for his personal dignity? Hell to the yes. With lyrics that devoid of a backbone, he could be on his way to rejuvenating the entire genre of music. I’m giddy!

All that’s missing is for Elliott to get some of his boys together and have them sing harmony while standing in the rain while wearing matching suits. He should call Taylor Hicks. I’m sure he’s available… but then again, it is state fair season. So, maybe not.

Categories: Music
  1. mandm
    October 17, 2007 at 7:57 am

    Love them both, so let’s not start another comparison ok?By the way, check out Taylor’s new Whomp at the Warfield live concert DVD.It should be out by Nov or Dec.You might not have the same downer impression of him after seeing that.I hope they both have great success.

  2. Me
    October 18, 2007 at 7:54 am

    I also love Elliotts Cd. Have you heard any of the other songs on it? But whats up with the Taylor bashing? They both are good friends. You should check out their duets together on the Live at the Workplay cd, by Little Memphis Blues Orchestra.

    By the way, you can stop the Taylor bashing, it’s not very becoming of you! I’m sure Elliott wouldn’t like it.

  3. October 18, 2007 at 11:23 am

    Taylor bashing is a time-honored tradition on this site, but it’s nothing personal. If you didn’t like those digs, don’t try to find an earlier post about Taylor winning Idol. And yes, I’ve listened to his stuff, and I just don’t think the guy is a great singer. Felt the same way about Clay Aiken. They are just not great pop vocalists. Good entertainers, maybe. Just my opinion.

    Since I don’t watch Idol, I don’t get caught up in all the drama and week-to-week hullabaloo. I just listen to the people that they foist on the American public. IMHO, without Idol and the forum it provided, Mr. Hicks would not be in the music industry. Elliott would.

  1. December 14, 2007 at 11:47 pm

Leave a Reply

