Home > Music > Name that tune… or is it a band name?

Name that tune… or is it a band name?

One of the great things about XM Radio is that, after 30+ years of playing the “Oh, what IS the name of that song” game while listening to the radio, I now get instant information on the song that’s playing.

That’s probably my favorite part of XM, other than getting to hear NWA songs every so often. My second favorite thing is that it keeps me in touch with tunes that the kids enjoy. And, unfortunately, I end up riding around feeling like an old codger going, “Is it possible to have a hit song without Akon, T-Pain and/or Jay-Z being involved?”

Another thing I’ve noticed lately is that there are a glut of male alt-rock bands out there with some eye-catching names. Snow Patrol. Boys like Girls. Fall Out Boy. Panic! at the Disco. The All-American Rejects. And besides the fact that they all seem to be aping the same formula (Take one cup of Green Day, two cups of Coldplay, a dash of the Replacements, a hint of R.E.M. and voila – a hit!), I’ve noticed something else:

Their band names would actually be better song titles.

This hit me tonight when I heard Boys Like Girls’ latest tune, “The Great Escape.” Besides the obvious Steve McQueen reference that their teen fans don’t get, I think it should be The Great Escape singing “Boys Like Girls.” I think Fall Out Boy’s “Dance Dance” song could be reversed with the band name. The All-American Rejects have a few songs that would be a better band name: “Dirty Little Secret,” “Move Along,” or even “The Last Song” would be a novel name.

OK, I’m probably splitting hairs, but this is the first time I’ve had an original thought in weeks. Hope you enjoyed it.

Categories: Music
  1. October 27, 2008 at 8:58 am

    Good for people to know.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

