Home > Music, TV > The random world of XM Radio

The random world of XM Radio

Quick story here, but as a XM Radio subscriber for the past 18 months, I’ve noticed some very weird things about their musical choices. I like to flip around the channels a bit while in the car, and when you do that, you notice a bunch of weird things.

Probably the weirdest phenomenon occurred earlier today. On the way back from lunch, I was listening to channel 21, KISS. According to XM Radio’s website, this station features “Fresh Hits of Pop, Rock and Rhythm.” OK, kiddies, here is the exact order of what channel 21 played at about 1:00 today.

  • “Straight Outta Compton” by NWA. I’m serious. Now, by what standards is this “fresh?” The record was released in 1988. Pop? Rock? Uh, it used the n-word a bit too much for that. Rhythm? I guess, but not in the R&B sense of the word. But, I was really getting into it.
  • Immediately after Eazy E (RIP, dog) gave his benediction (“Word to the motherfucka, straight out of Compton”), the folks at XM Radio let loose with a commercial promoting “…Kim Delaney in the new TV drama Army Wives on Lifetime…”
  • So, has XM Radio found a demographic that likes NWA and Lifetime soap operas? I have a pretty diverse set of interests, but I can’t go there..
  • Next up on channel 21? “Savin’ Me” by Nickleback.
  • I’ll repeat that… After NWA and a Lifetime promo, XM gave us Nickleback. I almost had a concussion from the mental whiplash.

Now, there’s plenty of other things about XM that I can’t understand. Why do they insist on playing Richard Marx’s “Endless Summer Nights” all the time? Why play Richard Marx at all?  Why is there so much Rick Springfield on XM?  Actually, that’s pretty cool, because it allows me to call my girl Lil’ Bit and play the tunes to her on my mobile.

I should probably go sit in the car and start listening to XM channel 21.  I’m guessing they’re playing some 2 Live Crew, followed by a promo for Lawrence Welk DVD sets that leads into a Conway Twitty ballad.  Well, their tagline is “Beyond AM. Beyond FM. XM.”  They should also add, “Beyond reason.”

Categories: Music, TV
  1. L'il Bit
    May 27, 2007 at 11:39 pm

    Thanks for the shout out, Hamsta. I also speed dial you when I hear Tony! Toni! Tone! (why all the exclamation points?!!!) and/or Bel Biv Devoe (I can’t quite tell them apart).

    Unfortunately, I have your old number in my phone and the call always ends with “What? Hello? Crap!”.

    Also unfortunate? You never hear Donkey Butt on XM.

  1. June 10, 2007 at 1:04 pm

Leave a Reply

