Home > Leftovers > The perfect perscription for the post-election blues (or reds)

The perfect perscription for the post-election blues (or reds)

After watching several dozen hours of election coverage in the past week or so, I gotta admit… the experience left me a little punchy. The Democratic party showed something resembling cohesion and regained control of Congress. Later, I thought I heard Rush Limbaugh say he was “liberated” by the results of the 2006 Democratic landslide. Then, I saw Wake Forest beat Florida State 30-0 in Tallahassee. If I had done acid as a teen, I’d chalk it up to a flashback.

The whole week was surreal. Especially since six years ago, I considered myself fairly moderate Republican – and found myself in the past few months siding with the most crazy-ass Democrats I could find. That’s the miracle of the Bush administration right there. After Bush/Cheney/Rumsfeld/Ashcroft, I feel like, by comparison, I’m a step away from Karl Marx.

In fact, during the election coverage, I recalled an article from The Onion back in 2001, immediately following inauguration of Bush 43. The article struck me then for its humorously pessimistic tone, and while watching the backlash of 2006, I was curious to reread it. Here’s a link to the original article.

The headline, “Bush: ‘Our Long National Nightmare Of Peace And Prosperity Is Finally Over'” was the perfect “up yours” tone for the Gen X and Gen Y readership of The Onion. What strikes me now is just how accurate some of the assertions turned out to be. Check out this section:

During the 40-minute speech, Bush also promised to bring an end to the severe war drought that plagued the nation under Clinton, assuring citizens that the U.S. will engage in at least one Gulf War-level armed conflict in the next four years.

“You better believe we’re going to mix it up with somebody at some point during my administration,” said Bush, who plans a 250 percent boost in military spending. “Unlike my predecessor, I am fully committed to putting soldiers in battle situations. Otherwise, what is the point of even having a military?”

(Admittedly, this article did not — and could not — predict the horrors of 9/11 that were only eight months in the future. And the attacks on that day preciptated the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq, even though the last one was a good ol’ tangential “while we’re over there, let’s take care of bid’ness” wars, in retrospect.)

However, in this age when more people under 30 get their political news from the Daily Show with John Stewart, it should come as no surprise that The Onion had the most prescient coverage of the upcoming W. administration.

I saw another site that provides an annotated version of The Onion piece, with links to show how and when the article proved prophetic. Or at least suspicious enough for whoever writes godlessgeeks.com. Now there’s a URL that got snapped up pretty quickly, I bet.

Categories: Leftovers
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

