Home > Leftovers > Long time, no post: the well is dry

Long time, no post: the well is dry

For the first time in my illustrious blogging career, I’ve had a total, complete, two-week-long bout of writer’s block. It’s bizarre… we’re all on the cusp of football season, the Emmy awards went down last week, and I saw a Padres game during a business trip to San Diego.  And what’s the best blog idea I’ve had?   A hard-hitting piece about why I hate Neil Diamond. 

So, tonight, as I’m sitting around watching Tropical Storm Ernesto creep towards us here in North Carolina, I’m just stunned about how little I have to say about anything. I mean, take the breathless coverage of all of the 24-hour news channels about this glorified tropical depression. You would thing that Hurricane Andrew 2: Electric Boogaloo was on the way.

Speaking of hurricanes, I caught Spike Lee’s documentary about Hurricane Katrina. Like all things Spike, this one sparked a firestorm of criticism and praise. Personally, I was completely absorbed by the movie.  Say what you will about the politics behind the movie, but the stories and the emotions from the survivors were honest, real and unvarnished.  Very moving.
The one part that will just live with me was when a New Orleans radio personality was interviewed This guy had stayed on the air almost constantly after the storm hit, relaying whatever news he could to the now-isolated residents. To Spike, he spoke at length about the panicked calls from residents, the unraveling of the city infrastructure, the utter frustration at the lack of response… and finally, he just broke down. Months afterward, he finally cracked.  It was riveting. And I broke down a little, too.

On the other side of the emotional spectrum, I also caught Talledega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby while in San Diego. My boy T-Bone and I hit the theater before we hopped on a lovely red-eye flight back to North Carolina. My quick review: I’m not sure I’ve ever laughed so hard at any movie when I wasn’t completely hammered. I’m not sure how many stars that equates to, but trust me. If you like to laugh, check it out.

Need convincing? Check out this speech from the movie, where Ricky Bobby’s former assistant (played by the fetching Amy Adams, aka the Hot Girl from the first season of The Office) gives him a most unusual pep talk. Check it:

Susan: Ricky Bobby is a driver. He is a doer, and that’s what you need to do. You don’t need to think. You need to drive. You need speed. You need to go out there, and you need to rev your engine. You need to fire it up. You need to grab ahold of that line between speed and chaos, and you need to wrestle it to the ground like a demon cobra. And then, when the fear rises up in your belly, you use it. And you know that fear is powerful, because it has been there for billions of years. And it is good. And you use it. And you ride it; you ride it like a skeleton horse through the gates of hell, and then you win, Ricky. You WIN! And you don’t win for anybody else. You win for you, you know why? Because a man takes what he wants. He takes it all. And you’re a man, aren’t you? Aren’t you?
Ricky Bobby: Susan, I’ve never heard you talk like that… Are we about to get it on? Because I’m as hard as a diamond in an ice storm right now.

I laugh just reading that.  That’s just good, clean family fun right there, Cotton. (Another movie quote… I apologize).  Somehow, I’m going to work the phrase “wrestle it to the ground like a demon cobra” into my everyday language.  I cannot WAIT until my next presentation to management.
Anyway, I guess one of these days I’ll come up with a good idea for a blog again.  For now, I’m pretty proud that I got this many words out of no real logical theme.  The writers block continues.  The blogging drought is over.

Categories: Leftovers
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

