Home > Music, TV > Kneel at the idol of mediocrity

Kneel at the idol of mediocrity

Very rarely do I just “lose it” and scream at the TV. Like whenever I see the Coach K Amex ad. Or whenever I see Pat Robertson on one of his really crazy tangents. You know, the stuff that makes you think you’re having a stroke.

This a.m., the ol’ blood pressure went up when I heard NBC’s Today coverage of last night’s American Idol. During their breathless coverage of the anointment of Taylor Hicks as the next idol, one of the Today show gang actually said that Taylor has a voice reminiscent of Ray Charles. OK, two things:

  1. Why in the hell is NBC devoting so much time to a Fox show? I guess it’s news, but it’s a phenomenon created to drive Fox’s ratings. Why would NBC want to devote more than a mention to Idol?
  2. Ray Charles? You gotta be kiddin’ me!! Maybe a lounge singer doing Ray Charles tunes. That’s ri-damn-diculous.

Now, in the interest of full disclosure, I’ve never watched an entire episode of American Idol. But, each year, I watch a bit of the final show to see what Idol they’re pushing on me. With a couple of exceptions (that Fantasia girl could belt out a tune, and Reuben could throw out a nice ditty… if he didn’t run out of breath), I’ve been less than impressed.

Last night was no different. I heard one of Taylor’s tunes, and I couldn’t believe that we had winnowed thousands of contestants into someone who sounds and looks like a night manager at Denny’s singing karaoke at the local Hilton on a Tuesday night. Well, maybe it wasn’t that bad, but lord knows, it wasn’t good.

See, as I may or may not have mentioned earlier, I typically hate reality shows that have a point. Anytime a bunch of schmoes are trying to win money or fame, the show immediately becomes about something other than the point of the show. If I had a quarter for every time this a.m. that I heard that Taylor was a great “entertainer” (not “singer”), then I could have eaten a really, really nice lunch.

You know, Carrot Top can be a helluva entertainer. A trapeze artist can entertain you. Two circus monkeys throwing poo in a cage might be entertaining. Should that be the criteria for the supposed American Idol?

I dunno… I just get the feeling that so many of today’s reality shows reward mediocrity. How many IQ points does it take to win on Deal or No Deal? I think a trained mule could win some cash there. The Amazing Race and Survivor reward gamesmanship and cattiness, but no real talent. Wheel of Fortune has been awarding people with a fifth-grade education for years.

Shouldn’t we expect more? What is the rest of the world saying about Taylor and his “Soul Patrol” schitick? Is this quest for the average a reflection of our society overall, or just the latest reflection of what my granddad called the Idiot Box?

As usual, I don’t have the answers. Just questions. I gotta log off now, though. I’d hate to keep any of you from downloading Taylor Hicks ringtones or mp3s.

Categories: Music, TV
  1. February 25, 2010 at 1:23 am

    i love ellen but this schtick was so lame. everything about last night was lame. i really believe this whole thing is totally fixed and scripted from day one. almost makes me not wanna watch idol.

  1. January 3, 2007 at 9:41 am
  2. October 1, 2007 at 9:22 pm
  3. May 21, 2009 at 10:18 pm

Leave a Reply

