Home > Sports > Et tu, my boy? aka, Kids say the darnedest things

Et tu, my boy? aka, Kids say the darnedest things

Last night, I was on Cloud Nine. UNC was beating Duke… at Cameron Indoor Stadium… in front of all of those alleged “Crazies.” It was, in a word, niiiiiiiice.

But, leave it up to a four-year-old to bring you down. A lot. Like a sledgehammer.

OK, my wife and son were out of the house for the first 37 minutes of the game. After they arrived at home, I put on my kid’s jammies (in front of the TV, of course) and talked to him about his favorite players. He likes Tyler Hansbrough because he has a classmate also named Tyler. He also likes Bobby Frasor, because he wears #4, and he’s four years old. Ah, the simplicity of youth.

And even though it was inching towards 11:00, I allowed him to watch the rest of the game with me. And then it happened.

He says, “Daddy, that man looks like you.” He was pointing at Dook coach Mike Krzyzewski, dog-cussing a referee on TV.

As Lewis Black would say, “I’ll repeat that.”

My son thinks I look like Coach Ratface. SWEET MONKEY PIE!!

I’m not sure I can even process this right now. It’s like… it’s like… I’m honestly at a loss for words for a comparison. Wasn’t there a Greek tragedy about this? Maybe, but those classes were snoozers in college. Perhaps, as Alanis Morissette sang, it was like 10,000 spoons when all I needed was a knife. No, that wasn’t ironic, and it’s in no way disturbing enough.

I should probably close with something witty or flippant, but I can’t. For now, I just have to go amend my will.

Categories: Sports
  1. Batchdog
    March 6, 2006 at 9:34 am

    Coach Ratface? I just don’t see the resemblance.

    Now Wojo? Now we are talking “separated at birth”.

    Go Heels!

  2. March 7, 2006 at 10:26 am

    I always thought I favored Chrissie Collins. Plus, I can cry on demand.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

