Home > The Power of Sweet Monkey Pie > It's time for a blaunch

It's time for a blaunch

When I was a kid, I remember standing on the end of a diving board, looking at the water below and saying to myself, “Man, I can do a front flip. No biggie.” I was partially paralyzed with fear, primarily because, a) I was 8 years old, and b) I had the athletic skills of a loveseat. But all my friends were doing flips, and dang it, if they jumped off the Golden Gate Bridge, I would have, too (provided they did a flip in the process).

So, this was pretty critical. If this was the “Wonder Years,” Daniel Stern (not to be confused with the NBA commish) would be providing narration about the sheer impact of that moment on the rest of his life… as The Byrd’s “Turn, Turn, Turn” played in the background.

But there I stood, afraid to go forward and afraid to go back. I knew it would be exhilerating, but if I didn’t do it right, I would be subject to intense emotional, physical and psychological pain. Yep, even at eight, I had a nice sense of drama.

Well, that’s kinda how I feel about this blog. Just standing there (or sitting here, more accurately), looking at the empty site, not knowing what the heck to do. But, here I go, flipping out into the blogosphere. Just a man, some freeware and a dream. We’re launching a blog here. Let the blaunch commence.

PS – I never did an adequate front flip off the diving board. My back is still burning from that first attempt, and the lifeguard almost had to go after me following the second attempt. As Homer Simpson would say, the moral to the story is, “Never try.”

  1. backdorr
    November 20, 2005 at 3:03 am

    Is a blaunch anything like Blanche from Golden Girls? She was definitely my favorite of the bunch. In fact, she was recently named the “Greatest Sitcom Slut” over at TV Squad. So if a blaunch is anything like Blanche, this is a sure sign that good things are to come.

    On a side note, please note the number five slut on the list, Joy from My Name is Earl. In the brief eight episodes that Joy has graced the airwaves, she has earned a very special place in my heart.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

